Computer Networking : A Top-Down Approach

Computer Networking : A Top-down Approach

Authors: James F. Kurose, Keith W. Ross
ISBN: 9780132856201
Edition: 6
Chapter: Computer Networks And The Internet
Exercise: Review
Question: 23


Question by Anonymous on 08 May, 2016 at 08:09 AM

What are the five layers in the Internet protocol stack? What are the principal responsibilities of each of these layers?

Answer by Geroge on 08 May, 2016 at 08:09 AM

The following are the five layers in the Internet protocol stack:

  1. Application layer
  2. Transport layer
  3. Network layer
  4. Data link layer
  5. Physical layer.

Principal responsibilities:

Application layer: HTTP, SMTP, and FTP protocols are used in application layer. it is used to send data over multiple end systems.

Transport layer:  Transfer the content between two endpoints mainly. TCP and UDP protocols are used in transport layer.

Network layer:  Move the packets between any two hosts in the network. IP protocol is used in network layer.

Data link layer:  Move the packets from one node to the next another node. Point-to-point protocol (ppp) used in data link layer.

Physical layer:  Transfer the individual bits from one node to the next node with in the frame.

1 0


Post the discussion improve the above solution.